Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

PASSMN March 2024 Presentation Follow Up

Posted by denglishbi on March 21, 2024

This week we had our first in-person PASSM (MN SQL Server) user group meeting. I was holding off on doing my presentation until we met in-person. The presentation I did was the one I did back in November at the Twin Cities M365 Community Days event “Power BI Gotchas – Dan’s Dirty Dozen”. This is a fun one and limiting the items I cover to just twelve is a bit of a challenge, but to keep the talk to an hour it works out well. Here is a link to the slides PASSMN202403_PowerBIGotchasDanEnglish.pdf

Power BI Gotchas presentation slide title

The description for the presentation is

“In this session you will get some insights into the Power BI gotchas that I have seen over the years. I will highlight a dozen of what I would call “what not to do” or shall we say “dirty” items. I have had an opportunity over the years to work with some of the largest customers of Power BI in the world and you might be surprised what comes up sometimes;) We will cover items around data model development, DAX, and report design of the things to be aware of and go over how to avoid and fix these things when developing Power BI models and reports that I feel should be avoided. The dozen items that will be covered are just a glimpse into the report development “what not to do” items at least in my opinion, I am sure you have seen your fair share as well and would love to hear what others have come across or potentially done too:)

I want to thank the Microsoft US Manufacturing organization for sponsoring the event to provide food, dessert, and beverage for the event, that was extemely thoughtful and very much appreciated❤️ I did provide a bunch of random Microsoft and techie stickers as well for the attendees to select from as some swag.

Overall we had at least 20 people in attendance the last I was able to count, which is great. We are still working on growing the in-person events after the pandemic. A really pleasant surprise was Brian Larson showing up with his wife (they are the first two in the third row below on left). That was special, I worked with Brian at Superior Consulting Services and also co-authored the Power View book with him.

PASSMN user group room and attendees

I was all decked out in my Microsoft Fabric and Power BI gear. Unfortunately in the quick selfie I took you can’t make out the Power BI shirt or see my yellow Messi Adidas (Power BI inspired).

Selfie pic of Dan English in Fabric and Power BI gear

I did make the Microsoft Fabric trucker hat, turned out okay;)

Next week I will be at the Microsoft Fabric Community Conference, so if you are in Las Vegas as well attending the conference come find me at the Interactive Labs or out and about the event:)

Leave a comment