Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

Power BI Desktop Install Experience & Publish Feature!

Posted by denglishbi on July 23, 2015

Tomorrow is the official Power BI GA release for the “new” 2.0 version of Power BI.  With the new release there will be a new version of Power BI Desktop application (formerly known as Power BI Designer).  This application is already available to download and here is the quick walkthrough of the install as well as some sample pics of a file that gets published to the PowerBI.com site!

Install Experience

image

image

image

image

image

image

Are you ready?

image

Awesome! Game on:)

image

Version: 2.25.4095.554

Publish

With the new release of the application you can publish to PowerBI.com in the cloud and soon to on-premise Pyramid Analytics Server (not available yet, but hopefully very soon, maybe next month).  Just announced today was the strategic allegiance and collaboration of Pyramid Analytics along with Microsoft.

image

Power BI Desktop file created from IMDb data.

image

File published to PowerBI.com

image

Very cool.  There are a ton of new features and functionality in the new application.  Way too many to cover here, so check out the Power BI team blog.

Here are some good articles and resources to check out:

Announcing Power BI general availability coming July 24th

Power BI team blog (great content, examples, articles, announcements)

Power BI Community site

Microsoft Power BI Support

Training Resources (provided by Jen Underwood)

Enjoy and I would love to hear your feedback!

4 Responses to “Power BI Desktop Install Experience & Publish Feature!”

  1. Thanks for your engagement with Power BI, Dan! We’re really only just getting started and our pace is accelerating. You should expect many more goodies next month, and the month after that, and the month after that…….

    • denglishbi said

      Thanks so much for the hard work that you and your team have put in as well as the additional vendors that have participated to make this such a wonderful experience! It has been a great experience since I first saw this last year at the MVP Summit and watching it mature each month. It has been a pleasure participating in this development process and promoting the new Power BI!

  2. I have a question :o) I can use the cloud power BI app with my data if I install the connector if I buy a professional license that is clear to me. I can use the desktop app for free with my data; that is also clear to me. Can I then publish that to the cloud service from desktop hooked up to my data? or do I have to install the connector and buy a professional license? So in short is the pro license to connect the cloud app to on premise or is also so that I publish to the cloud service with my own data? I’m guessing the latter.

Leave a Reply

 
