Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

Archive for May 6th, 2011

PASS 2011 Summit Session Submissions

Posted by denglishbi on May 6, 2011

[tweetmeme source=”denglishbi” only_single=”false”]

Over the last two days I submitted my session topics for this year’s PASS 2011 Summit which is in Seattle, Washington from October 11-14.  This is by far one of the largest SQL Server training events and a fabulous spot for networking.  There will be 5 technical tracks (two business intelligence related) and over 150 sessions to choose from!  The sessions start on Wednesday and go through Friday and the rate to attend the conference is $1,395.  There is a $200 discount if you are going in a group and will have at least 5 people.

The four sessions I submitted are

  • Inside PerformancePoint
  • Leveraging the Microsoft BI Toolset to Monitor Performance
  • Leveraging PowerPivot
  • Case Study: Delivering Collections Information through Microsoft BI

I really need to work on clever session names and creating sweet abstracts; I am trying, work in progress.

Last year I submitted 3 or 4 as well and ended up as an alternate.  I was on the list for the community voting and didn’t make the final cut.  Maybe this is the year.  I have only spoken locally and done webinars, so this would be really exciting (and I am sure a bit nerve wracking) presenting at a national conference.

Well last night I did a little analysis of the session submissions and there were 532 when I headed off to sleep (31% business intelligence related) and now this morning we have 609 total submissions (4 without a speaker name…data quality issue, nah?).

Here is where we sit right now (thanks to…you guessed it…PowerPivot):

image

Doing a little analysis on the title and abstract names (this is really a rough analysis) it appears that after SQL, Reporting Services is a popular topic of discussion (these are the only subjects I searching on and I included variations of them as well; I did focus primarily on business intelligence related topics…go figure):

image

So how many sessions did everyone submit?  Well 6 was the most and 5 people did that.  All together we had 240 different speakers submit (but that mystery speaker that is associated with 4 sessions could actually be four different people).

image

Now we just need to wait until July to see who is going to make the cut.  Of course the price goes up to attend the conference in July by $200, but that is the going rate when you know what you will be able to checkout.  It will all be fantastic content and a great time for everyone in the SQL Community.

Good luck to everyone that submitted and I hope to see you all at the big dance in October.

Posted in SQL Server, Training | Tagged: , , | 2 Comments »