Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

Video: Leveraging PowerPivot Demonstration

Posted by denglishbi on April 4, 2011

[tweetmeme source=”denglishbi” only_single=”false”]

I finally got around to recording the presentation.  I only did the demo to create the screenshot application I included in the presentation, I didn’t include the portions where I demo exploring the xlsx file by renaming it to zip file extension or browse the VertiPaq folders that get created in your %temp% directory in Windows (watch out for these because they can take up a lot of space over time – I currently have 16 VertiPaq folders consuming 1.31GB of space).image

For the follow up on this presentation you can check out my previous posting – MN Microsoft BI User Group 2011 Q1 Follow up.  You can download the PDF presentation material by clicking on the PowerPoint screenshot on the right-hand side which I have stored on my SkyDrive account.

This video file is approximately 27 minutes long.  I didn’t realize my demonstration was that long, next time I will have to time this out so I can make sure I have plenty of time to show the complete demo and have time to resolve any technical difficulties.  The file is approximately 43MB if you download it and I did make this in HD mp4 quality, so it should be good to watch.  This was my first time using Camtasia to create a screencast, so hopefully everything worked out okay (really sweet product).

Leveraging PowerPivot Demonstration from Dan English on Vimeo.

Hope you enjoy the video, please feel free to post comments and questions.  Later.

Update (4/5/2011):  I have the PowerPoint presentation on SlideShare if you don’t want to download it and just want to view the slides.

Update (4/6/2011):   In regards to the CSV file I simply used the Export wizard in SSMS to create the file.  In order to do that I create the following view in the ContosoRetailDW database to reference:

CREATE VIEW [dbo].[vw_SalesBudgetData]

AS

SELECT DateKey, ChannelKey, StoreKey, ProductKey, SalesQuantityQuota, SalesAmountQuota,

FROM dbo.FactSalesQuota WHERE (ScenarioKey = 2)

When I exported the file I also used the Vertical Bar for the delimiter and included the column headers.

Leave a Reply

 
