Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

PASSMN May 2010 Follow-up

Posted by denglishbi on June 2, 2010

This past month I presented at our local Minnesota SQL Server User Group.  I was a tad bit exhausted from presenting at TechFuse 2010 and the SQL Server 2008 R2 launch event here in Minneapolis earlier in the month.  It was tough when each presentation was on a different topic and I filled in for the launch event and had less than a week to absorb the content.  I didn’t plan for all of these to occur one week after the other either, just kind of happened.  Needless to say I was a little burnt out, so hopefully my PASSMN_Logocontent was good even though I probably sounded a bit less than enthused, which I apologize for.  I also want to apologize for the food.  The Papa Johns pizza was mistaken delivered to Davannis….I wish I could have been there to see that one.

For the evaluations I received the following scores (on a five point scale):

  • Effectiveness of the demonstrations – 3.7
  • Usefulness of the material presented – 4.0
  • Speaker’s presentation skills – 3.5
  • Correct blend of presentations and demonstrations – 4.0
  • Overall Presentation Rating – 3.8

I have been holding out on posting the content because this was the first month we got an actual recording of the meeting.  I have been working on converting it and making it available to view.  My talk was on SSAS Design Best Practices and Incremental Processing.  I highlighted some of the built-in items in BIDS along with BIDS Helper, did a few demos, and wrapped it up with a little PowerPivot comparison.

PASSMN May 2010 – SSAS Design & Incremental Processing from Dan English on Vimeo.

I wanted to provide some follow-up reference links that goes over some of my content or highlights items that I discussed:

I think I misspoke a couple of times.  One time I stated that I don’t usually have the security information for SSAS ahead of time.  That isn’t necessarily the case, usually it is a requirement up front.  Sometimes though we add it in after the fact and it doesn’t take a lot of work to accommodate that either using SSAS roles.  I believe I also mentioned that PowerPivot was row based compression and it is column.  It was kind of funny, because the day after my presentation I ran into a blog posting about hierarchies in PowerPivot which I was talking about at the end of my presentation and did a posting in regards to it – Hierarchies in PowerPivot.  You still don’t get the drill path like you would in SSAS, but you can get a similar look-and-feel.

The other big thing was the incremental processing setup I had posted about previously – Analysis Services (SSAS) Processing and Aggregations.  I had originally set that package up to handle yearly incremental processing and before I published it I changed it to monthly.  Well needless to say I forgot to take into account the yearly partitions that might be included and these were getting included in the full processing group instead of being ignored.  I have made the change and have created a new version of the packages and replaced the old ones.

Downloads from my SkyDrive (presentation and SSIS package download):

presentation download

ssis download  

Feel free to leave me any comments if you have any questions or ask me questions at one of the PASSMN monthly meetings.

3 Responses to “PASSMN May 2010 Follow-up”

  1. […] Video PASSMN May 2010 – SSAS Design & Incremental Processing (blog) […]

  2. simon said

    Hey Dan can you check your links…I would like to download the SSIS – SSAS Processing packages. cheers.

Leave a Reply

 
