Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

PASSMN SQL Summit 2009 Follow-up

Posted by denglishbi on September 26, 2009

Yesterday we had the PASSMN SQL Summit 2009.  We had a great turn out with nearly 100 attendees and that number held constant throughout the day.  I was very pleased with the attendance and I think everything turned out great considering this was our first major event we have organized like this.

I want to thank everyone that contributed for making this event possible – PASSMN Executive Board, Microsoft, Magenic, Digineer, National PASS, Pearson Education, and United Properties.  I have the utmost respect for anyone who was to coordinate an event like this; it was a lot of work making sure everything went as smoothly as possible.

Hopefully my presentation in regards to Upgrade to SSAS 2008 turned out halfway decent and people were able to take away some information from it.  I have included my presentation down below and I included the DMV scripts that I was demoing and included a couple of additional slides for sources and resources.  Some of the items that I mentioned and did not get to demo or provide links to are listed here:

http://cid-cd3e77e793df6178.skydrive.live.com/embedicon.aspx/Public/Presentations/PASSMN/PASSMNSummit_20090925.zip

I still couldn’t believe that only one person that attended my presentation was using BIDS Helper.  I keep pushing this add-in with each of my presentations and also on my blog.  I strongly suggest that anyone that is doing BI Development with SQL Server 2005 or 2008 downloads and leverages this add-in from CodePlex – BIDS Helper.

Leave a Reply

 
