Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

Goodbye GeoCities, Popfly, and now Soapbox

Posted by denglishbi on July 25, 2009

Earlier this year I setup Google Ads on my Windows Live Spaces site.

image

That was pretty cool, but since it involved using javascript I had to find another means to get this to display on Live Spaces.  By setting up a GeoCities web site I was able to create the web page with the javascript that was needed within GeoCities and then reference this page by adding an HTML Sandbox item to my Live Spaces.

image

I was notified earlier this year that later this year the GeoCities service would be closing on October 26, 2009.

image

So this will no longer be an option for me.  Now you can have Yahoo host your site for $4.99/mo for the first 12 months and then it will be $9.95/mo.  You could do something similar to what I used GeoCities for with Popfly, which was a beta program that Microsoft setup where you could create games and mashups of content.  But once again a couple of months back I received an email stating that this was also shutting down on August 24, 2009.

image

This is starting to become a reoccurring theme now.  Then this past week I received a notice that MSN was shutting down its online user video service Soapbox

image

MSN Soapbox Shutdown FAQ

So as of July 29, 2009 you will no longer be able to upload videos and users will have to download and remove their videos by August 31, 2009.  The MSN video service will still be available, but the user generated content will no longer be an option.  So I will have to find another spot to put my videos that are longer than 10 minutes on if I want to continue to share this content since YouTube has added this limit.  I believe I only have a couple of videos that don’t meet this requirement, so not too big of a deal.

I was getting some viewings though on these items, so I will have to update my blog postings to point the videos to a new location.

image

Clearly I get more viewings on YouTube though.

image

It is sad to see that these services are being discontinued, but it is understandable.  Everyone has to do a little trimming these days to stay afloat.

One Response to “Goodbye GeoCities, Popfly, and now Soapbox”

  1. […] So long Live Spaces, Hello WordPress! Posted on September 29, 2010 by denglishbi On Monday when I went to access my blog that I have had since December 2007 I received a message stating that Live Spaces had reached an agreement with WordPress.com and that I had an option to move our postings over.  I was a bit surprised, but actually quite relieved at the same time.  I knew it was time for a change for a long time now and this was my opportunity.  It did state that I could still continue making posts through the end of the year, but after that it was going to be locked down and then as of March of next year I would not have an opportunity to do the conversion anymore.  Kind of like last year when some of the services I was using decided to pack up and shutdown – Goodbye GeoCities, Popfly, and now Soapbox. […]

Leave a Reply

 
