Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

MCITP Business Intelligence Developer 2008 Certified! Passed 70-452 (71-452)

Posted by denglishbi on October 24, 2008

Just checked my email this morning and last night I got the email results from taking the 71-452 PRO Designing a Business Intelligence Infrastructure Using Microsoft SQL Server 2008 test and I passed!  Here was the official email from Microsoft Certification program:

Congratulations on earning your Microsoft Certified IT Professional: Busines Intelligence Developer 2008 certification! We hope you enjoy the benefits of your certification and of membership in the Microsoft Certified Professional community.

If you are planning on taking the test I would recommend reviewing the preparation guide that you can review here.  You can also take a look at my feedback in regards to the exam here. Just a quick reminder that this is not the same format as the SQL Server 2005 MCITP 70-446 exam and it is focused on the SQL Server 2008 new features.  Good luck!

So now that means that I am fully Microsoft BI Certified for SQL Server 2005 and 2008Smile

Supposedly I could have just taken the upgrade exam, 70-455 – Upgrade: Transition your MCITP Business Intelligence Developer Skills to MCITP Business Intelligence Developer 2008, since I already have the 2005 certification.  Unfortunately I don’t see any details on that yet on the Microsoft Certification site.

3 Responses to “MCITP Business Intelligence Developer 2008 Certified! Passed 70-452 (71-452)”

  1. Unknown said

    Congrats Dan.
     
    I am considering taking this exam as well.  Can you give some advice on what the best way to study is?  I typically use the Microsoft published MCTS books, but this one isn’t due out until April of 2009.  How did you study for this exam?

  2. Dan said

    You definitely want to study and prepare for the test.  Best advice is to reference the Microsoft prep guide here along with referencing the BOL here or downloading them from here.  I did a quick little refresher with the 2005 Transcender prep tests and I didn’t even take a look at the actual prep exam.  Luckily I was extremely familiar with all of the SQL Server 2008 features since I had been using it since CTP3 or CTP4 and had been staying on top of all of the changes and new features making DYN screencasts that I have posted on my blog, YouTube, and Soapbox (keyword search – Magenic).  The 2008 MCITP is not setup at all like the 200or 5 exam and you can review my feedback here.  I wish you the best of luck on preparing and taking the exam.  I would check out the Transcender site and send the support team there an email to find out when they will have some prep tests available.  The more people requesting them the sooner they should make them available. 

  3. Fiyinfolu said

    Hi,Congrats again on the success of your MCITP exams.I’m into data warehousing and business intelligence and will like to do the SQL Server 2008 BI (MCTS and MCITP) exams. I have not been able to find any books online on the subject.Kindly give me an advice on the shortest and most effective path to trek in achieving this goal.Regards

Leave a Reply

 
