Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

North Central BI-SIG Sept 12 Follow-up

Posted by denglishbi on September 16, 2008

Last Friday I co-presented at the local Business Intelligence user group with Joe Beeck and it went really well.  I wasn’t sure how we were going to do on time, but I actually had to kind of skim over my demo at the end.  I was able to show how to setup the option to enable the OPENQUERY capability within SQL Server 2005 with the Surface Area Configuration tool and with Policy Based Management in SQL Server 2008, so that was cool.  I have uploaded the presentation to the user group site, North Central District Business Intelligence SIG, and I did place it on my SkyDrive account if anyone else would like to take a look at it.  You can access the file download from here.

The presentation was on the whole Sreadmart to Data Mart conversion process and the additional information in regards to the presentation can be found on my early posting here.

If you have any questions in regards to this topic or would like to know more about the solution and using SQL Server stored procedures to access the SSAS data for Reporting Services (mainly to merge multiple data sets together – which is always an issue when it comes to SSRS) send me a message or reference my earlier blog posting here.

Just want to thank everyone that attended and hope to see you at the December meeting or at the Microsoft BI Conference next month.

Leave a Reply

 
