Dan English's BI Blog

Welcome to my random thoughts in regards to Business Intelligence, databases, and other technologies

Archive for November 22nd, 2008

Downloads and Catch-Up

Posted by denglishbi on November 22, 2008

Ok I took a bit of time off from the blogging.  Just got into some really interesting work with a new client and have been holding off on sending out some links to some great content that I have come across over the past month.  I am also in the process of blogging about using the custom PPS SQL Query filter that was released and my experience implementing the filter.

So on to my links, downloads, and other exciting news:

  1. Competitive Comparison of SQL Server 2008 Integration Services white paper – This paper compares SQL Server 2008 Integration Services to the extract, transform, and load offerings of competitors, including IBM Information Server, Informatica PowerCenter, Oracle Warehouse Builder, and Oracle Data Integrator. The paper shows that, while competitor products perform competently in many situations, they do not compare to the advanced features and capabilities available in SSIS.
  2. Installing Dashboard Designer using an MSI Installer file – may or may not be useful to you, just depends on how you would like to deploy the PPS Dashboard Designer.
  3. SQL Server 2008 White Paper: Analysis Services Performance Guide – This white paper describes how application developers can apply query and processing performance-tuning techniques to their SQL Server 2008 Analysis Services OLAP solutions.
  4. SSIS Connectors now available for SAP BI, Oracle, and Teradata – Both of the promised post-RTM packages of connectors for use with SQL Server 2008 Enterprise and Developer are now available for download.
  5. Office PerformancePoint Server 2007 Technical Library in Compiled Help format – Downloadable CHM version of PerformancePointServer content on TechNet.
  6. Cumulative update package 2 for SQL Server 2008 and if you are not ready for that then here is Cumulative update package 1 for SQL Server 2008

    SQL Server 2008 Builds:

    Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (RTM) – 10.0.1600.22

    Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (CU1) – 10.0.1763.0

    Microsoft SQL Server 2008 (CU2) – 10.0.1779.0

  7. Reporting Services Scale-Out Deployment Best Practices – This technical note is part of the Building and Deploying Large Scale SQL Server Reporting Services Environments Technical Note Series  which provides general guidance on how to set up, implement, and optimize an enterprise scale-out architecture for your Microsoft® SQL Server® Reporting Services environment. This note provides guidance for both SQL Server 2005 and 2008 Reporting Services. The focus of this technical note is Scale-Out Deployment Best Practices – the Reporting Services Windows®/Web Services servers that provide your reports.

That is a good list for now.  I will be posting on the PPS custom filter in the near future once I get everything typed up.  I also wanted to mention that I did get elected into the PASSMN Executive Board for 2009, so I am anxiously awaiting to meet with the group and determine my official position.  If you didn’t see my campaign video, which I only posted internally in the Magenic forums (but the video is on Soapbox) you can check that out right here in my MSN video collection –> PASSMN – Dan English Campaign Video (it was just a funny skit that was put together and no I am definitely not a good actor). 

I have more videos out on YouTube and at some point I need to make sure all of these are on Soapbox (YouTube has the 10 minute limit, so I cannot put all of my videos on that site).  Plus I need to make sure all of the videos are working on YouTube because I received an email stating that some of them were no longer available…sorry and I will make sure that they are working again.

I also want to send out a quick congratulations to the BIDS Helper team which I have gladly supported and blogged about a few times promoting on winning the SQL Server Heroes Contest.  Nicely done and well deserved!

If you are wondering about where I get most of my download information from it is from my RSS feed to the MDSN Download Center which keeps you up-to-date.

I also wanted to put a link to the I’m a PC – Tron Guy which I think is great since I am a fan of the movie and he is from Fairmont, MN.

Posted in Downloads | Tagged: | Leave a Comment »

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers